Skip Navigation

Committees & Working Groups


The ARUCC Board provides overarching leadership and decision support, guiding the entire project through its project director, Charmaine Hack (former president of ARUCC – 2016 to 2018; current VP Strategic Enrolment Management at Centennial College). ARUCC is a separately incorporated entity representing colleges, institutes, and universities from across Canada.

Organizations with representatives from Canada’s post-secondary institutions on the ARUCC Board: ARUCC, AARAO, BCI, CRALO, OURA, WARUCC


Steering Committee

The Project is being led by various committees including the ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Steering Committee. The Committee’s authority is outlined in the formal Steering Committee Terms of Reference which were reviewed and approved by the ARUCC Board. The Committee is led by its chair, Charmaine Hack. The Steering Committee meets four times a year and focuses on identifying and confirming priorities and a plan of action for moving MyCreds™ into its next phase.

Organizations with representatives on the Steering Committee: ARUCC, CanPESC, CUCCIO, PCCAT

Integrated Working Group (IWG) 

The Integrated Working Group is focused on operational and systems integration. The IWG serves as the main group for supporting schools, including registrars and CIOs, with developing API connectors to enterprise student information systems. It maintains ties to the CanPESC community through its co-chair to support interoperability using standards-based data exchange.

Organizations and institutions with representatives on the committee: ARUCC, CanPESC, CUCCIO, Humber College, institutional representatives from regions across Canada

Technical User Group Forum 

Once a month, the ARUCC MyCreds™ team is leading a Technical User Group Forum to help schools with all their technical needs and questions through the onboarding process and beyond. The Integrated Working Group will be using this forum as a regular venue to support its integration and best practices work for building API connectors to enterprise student information systems and aligning with standards bodies. This is a closed group for institutions and organizations who have onboarded or are moving through the onboarding process.

Institutions and organizations with representatives on the committee: registrarial leaders from institutions launched or onboarding to MyCreds™

Communications Working Group

The Communications Working Group is responsible for guiding communications and marketing needed to support institution/organization onboarding and stakeholder outreach and change management.

Institutions and organizations with representatives on the committee: registrarial leaders from institutions launched or onboarding to MyCreds™

Registrars’ Advisory Group

The Registrars’ Advisory Group provides a discussion venue for registrars from early adopter schools that are launched or soon to launch. This group supports a focus on continuous improvement, stakeholder management, and future proofing the Network.

Institutions with representatives on the committee: registrars from institutions launched or onboarding to MyCreds™

Associate Registrars’ and Deputy Registrars’ (AR/DR) Advisory Group

The AR/DR Advisory Group provides a discussion venue for associate and deputy registrars from onboarded or onboarding schools to share best practices, policies, and advice as a support for local implementation of MyCreds™.

Institutions with representatives on the committee: associate/deputy registrars from institutions launched or onboarding to MyCreds™

MyCreds™| MesCertif™ Strategic Advisory Committee

The MyCreds™| MesCertif™ Strategic Advisory Committee is a strategic committee with a focus on the following:

  1. To support efforts to attract partnerships and annual funding that contribute to and support the continued growth and sustainability of MyCreds™.
  2. To provide advice for the creation of a MyCreds™ Funding Marketing material for the purpose of supporting fundraising.
  3. To support and guide efforts to secure government support for MyCreds™.
  4. To help efforts to advance rapid adoption and support for MyCreds™.
  5. To contribute in other ways as appropriate to the long-term vision for MyCreds™.

Chaired by Kathleen Massey, Associate Vice-President (Students), University of Lethbridge; Past President, Groningen Declaration Network; Past President, ARUCC

PIA/Security & Security Testing Working Groups

These two groups included experts from post-secondary institutions, government, and application centres from across Canada.

  • The PIA/Security Working Group reviewed the overarching privacy impact assessment needs and high-level architecture during the creation of MyCreds™. They finalized the Privacy and Impact Assessment report which ARUCC formally adopted.
  • The Security Testing Working Group conducted vulnerability testing on the MyCreds™ platform which resulted in national level security findings report formally adopted and approved by the ARUCC Board.

These groups finished their work in fall 2020 and remain on standby should additional privacy related needs or additional security testing advice arise.

Organizations and institutions with representatives on the committees: ARUCC, BC Government, CanPESC, Humber College, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Ontario Universities’ Application Centre (OUAC), OCAS, Université de Montréal, University of Alberta, University of Calgary, University of Guelph, University of Lethbridge

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

The ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Steering Committee established a Technical Advisory Committee for the national student data exchange platform. This group completed its work in June 2019 although its members remain available as the project moves forward. These Committee members provided technical advice to support the technical aspects of the business case and RFP for the national data exchange solution. Its activities were governed by formal Terms of Reference. Meetings of this group occurred every three to four weeks throughout the winter, spring, and summer of 2019. The chair and vice-chair of the Committee were Brian Stewart, deputy CIO, University of Alberta, and Alex Ferworn, Professor, Ryerson University.

The Committee included representatives from higher education organizations and institutions who fulfilled the following criteria:

  • Represented an institution/organization that has formally endorsed the national Project.
  • Did not represent an institution/organization that is intending to participate in the RFP process for the national data exchange solution.
  • Had expertise in data exchange, data security, and/or identity management related to the exchange of student data.
  • Were supported by their leadership to participate in the Project.

RFP Review Committee

The Project Steering Committee established a national RFP Review Committee to support the work of the Project Steering Committee. It was co-chaired by Charmaine Hack (VP Strategic Enrolment Management, Centennial College; ARUCC’s past president; Chair of the Project Steering Committee) and Brian Stewart (Deputy CIO, University of Alberta; member, Project Steering Committee; Chair, Canadian University Council of Chief Information Officers). The Committee included leaders from across Canada with expertise in a range of areas including purchasing, registrarial business processes, IT system design and data architecture, data privacy, identity management, service agreements and warranties, licensing, and more. ARUCC directors were formally represented on both the RFP Review Committee and the Steering Committee. This committee concluded its work upon the successful close of the RFP process and the selection of Digitary as the provider for the MyCreds™ platform.